Skip to content

Gunks June 27-28

June 30, 2009

Another wet weekend:

Julia and I drove up to my sister’s Friday night and watched some Kung-fu Panda before bed. Saturday we met up with Brian and Dave at the stairmaster and hiked in to Sleepy Hollow at the far end of the traps. The rock was wet but I got on Wegetables and Brian got on Tennish Anyone?

I took an unexpected fall at the first roof when my foot slipped while reaching past a good hold. A number one fits bomber in the roof, a red alien in the finger pocket above it and a #3 can go in near the top above the last roof.

Brian got on Tennish, but ended up on Hawaii Five Ten. I did a TR on Tennish Anyone and found it pretty doable on TR despite the wet holds.

It rained and we decided to hike to Skytop with our packs, always enjoyable.

Sunday we hiked into Lost City and we got on some climbs I had scoped the other day. There seemed to be a good number of climbers in the area.  I only lead one crack but enjoyed several other routes on TR. Again, Lost City isn’t in any guidebooks so I don’t know the names of the routes or the grades but I’d say most of those cracks go at 5.5 to 5.8  The face TR we set up was closer to 5.11c/d? It went fine after finding all the holds.

Photos to come.

From → Climbing, Gunks

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

