Skip to content

Gunks September19-20th

September 21, 2009
After a week away in DC I returned home Friday and spent the night watching the Wrestler and Benjamin Button. Saturday

Morning I drove straight to the cliff and met up with Brian and Dave coming off Welcome to the Gunks. I lead the first pitch of Birdie Party but unsure of the route description we stopped at the first anchor. The climbing is about 5.8 to this anchor.  For future reference keep going right after the anchor, ending the first pitch above MF. I guess it crosses Mother’s Day party.  Brian made it up Tough Shift and I had fun top roping that and Star Action. Major props to Brian for keeping it together on Tough Shift and getting gear in above the roof.

On Sunday I met up with Brian and Dave and I lead up Credibility Gap and we set up a 2 rope TR over Welcome to the Gunks. From there we hiked to Simple Stuff which I sent clean. It’s got lots of small cams and nut options. It’s a super fun climb with delicate stemming and moves.

On the way out some boulder bunnies invited us to hop on Andrew’s Traverse (V4). I’ve been working that problem on and off since my first trip the gunks while in undergrad. I sent the climb my first try on Sunday. Simple stuffAmazing feeling.  Brian sent it in his approach shoes, showing me up in front of the ladies.

before the tricky movesBrian stemming Simple Stuff
Dave Susses simple stuff.CR2
From → Gunks

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

