Skip to content

Gunks October 12

October 16, 2009

Ah, a cool Columbus day. We headed out early to have a busy day in the uber falls area.  Russ and I picked up Jens and met up with Brian, Hep, and Karina. Russ and I warmed up on the classics Laurel (placing 2 pieces) and Rhodendron. Russ did a great job protecting Laurel and I had fun seconding in my approach shoes. We moved over to Double Clutch and I got the move after a short hang to warm up my hands.  Really it’s just a big throw from pretty good holds. I clipped the pin, placed a #4, and above the roof a #2. From there I caught a rides on Red Cabbage Right, and Nose Dive. We moved on and I headed up my goal for the day: P 38. Last time I was on P-38 with Brian it was completely wet and extremely difficult to stay on. This time I moved quickly and efficiently through the lower difficult moves for the Red Point. I set up a TR above the line for the party, Jules even met up and hopped on. Karina and I worked on Stirrup Trouble on TR. Brian did a pretty good job of dropping the rope over this wildly wondering route. The crux moves of ST are right off the starting boulder and thin to protect. It must have been an exciting lead for Brian the other week.

From → Climbing, Gunks

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

