Skip to content

Tit speed

June 29, 2010

We packed up Sunday morning at Rogers, had breakfast at the Cathedral (surprisingly it wasn’t a cluster fuck in there). We headed back to Kaymore and straight to Tit Speed 5.11c.  I tried to get russ to hang the draws again but he backed off. I was determined to finish our objective for the day.  The climb itself is spectacular and I can’t wait to get back on it. The moves are fun and sporty. Plenty of good holds to clip off of and committing reaches above the bolts. The difficult moves are all below the 4th bolt.  Unfortunately it was about 90 degrees and in direct sun. I sweated and moaned my way up, hanging bolt to bolt, trying to keep my glasses dry and eyes from burning.  I let russ try again on top rope and he bitched out again. I was happy to top rope the route, I was surprised I made it up in the first place! It started raining pretty hard half way up the route. Fortunately it stays dry as it’s capped by a large roof.

We hiked out. I dropped my shoes off at Waterstone for a resole and we headed home to Philadelphia.

From → New River Gorge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

