Skip to content

Gunks Aug 29-30

August 31, 2015

Russ and I went to the Gunks and Friday night, getting to the new AAC campground around 10. The night was pretty cool and we went to bed shortly after pitching tents.  Despite trying to make plans with Brian Todd we ended up at the Trapps so Dave Roller could find us on Saturday morning. I lead the first pitches of Snooky’s Return and Friends and Lovers.  Russ lead Asphodel and Roller met us. While was was leading I ran into some old friends, Meghan and Steve Smith. Busy day at the Gunks!  Dave followed Asphodel and they rapped with the 70m without having to stop. It’s a long rap and the 70 just gets you down safely.  Dave put up Co-Ex, reappointing the climb in style. (Dave used a Blue Alien to protect the low move). I top roped it twice and am ready for another red point attempt.  We walked up to Beatle Brow Bulge and I lead that, I think onsight, but I’m surprised i’ve never lead such a good route. It’s definitely soft for “5.10” but fair enough with the pump. There is a pretty good tree and we were able to top rope with the 70m.  Russ got a redpoint on V-3. We all took a TR trip up that and moved on. Dave onsighted Never Never Land and I took a TR trip up that. Pretty full day for climbing with 3 people on a really busy summer day! We tried to get into the Brahause for dinner but were too hungry to wait.  The three of us had dinner at the Otter instead. I was quite tired by the time we got back to the campsite and passed out early.  Russ and I were treated to some wild animal noises overnight. I assume it was an owl  and another bird (mate or dinner?).

We got up around 7 on Sunday packed up our camping gear and headed back to the Bakery for breakfast.  The Trapps were pretty quite, Russ and I headed back to the same area we finished at on Saturday. I warmed up on Cake Walk.  Russ then lead Alley Oop. I followed that up and I top roped Dry Heaves. I put up Absurdland and we finished up for the weekend.  The split rock parking was full again so we decided to hit Rock and Snow and head home. Russ purchased a new helmet (a smart buy!) and some sexy new slings & binners….we’ll be climbing on his rack before long!  We made it back to Philly for dinner.

From → Climbing, Gunks

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

